Truly Blessed, Highly Favored and Deeply Loved!

Posted: 9 July, 2008 in Ponderings
Tags: , , , , , , ,

In the The Birth of Jesus Foretold to Mary as accounted by Luke. Angel Gabriel was sent by God to enlighten Mary. Gabriel called Mary, favored woman! and in some manuscripts blessed among women (we keep this in tension for now). This is because Mary is chosen to conceive and bear the great Son of the Most High where His Kingdom will never end! and His name, is Jesus.

 

When Mary ask how can this be? Gabriel replied, The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the baby to be born will be holy, and he will be called the Son of God. What’s more, your relative Elizabeth has become pregnant in her old age! People used to say she was barren, but she’s now in her sixth month. For nothing is impossible with God.”   Luke 1:35-37

When Mary visited Elizabeth, she gave a glad cry and exclaimed to Mary, “God has blessed you above all women, and your child is blessed. Why am I so honored, that the mother of my Lord should visit me? When I heard your greeting, the baby in my womb jumped for joy. You are blessed because you believed that the Lord would do what he said.”   Luke 1:42-45

Now, we jump to the gospel of John when Jesus Promises the Holy Spirit. the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. Anyone who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”

When we put both accounts together, one before the birth and one before the death of Christ, we see that both speak of the same Holy Spirit – Spirit of truth. So when the same Holy Spirit come upon us and the power of the Most High overshadow us as promied by Jesus, we too conceive Jesus Christ in us, but in the spiritual sense. Flesh gives birth to flesh, Spirit gives birth to our spirit.

Jesus answered, “Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”   John 3:5-8

If Mary is called blessed and favored because of carrying Jesus in her, we then on the same measure are blessed and favored because Christ is in us as well. The Life that is before the Birth is the same Life after Resurrection.

We are blessed among women and men! We are called favored woman and man! We, the Truly Blessed, Highly Favored and Deeply Loved ones! We are blessed because we believed that the Lord would do what he said.

Because Jesus Lives, we too live! What’s more, Truly Blessed, Highly Favored and Deeply Loved!

 

Comments
  1. davestonier says:

    Wonderfull site – thank you

  2. Sally says:

    Luv it! You gave me newer insights. I think we, Christians sometimes forget we are children of the KING!!! I am going to read this article at least 10 times. kEEP WRITING!!!

Please Share!

