Happiness, the Secret

Posted: 31 January, 2008 in Ponderings
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the world, people are all in the pursue of happiness. It is probably the most misunderstood concept because it seems so simple yet so elusive. Everyone seems to be able to achieve it, yet many see it fleeing.

An article shows that even the level of happiness makes a difference in the physical outcome.   ‘Moderate’ Happiness May Be Healthier

Happiness, the Secret - Laughter

“To put the findings in perspective, it is important to note that happiness generally correlates with all kinds of positive measures, said Illinois psychology professor Ed Diener, an author of the study. In general, the happier you are the more successful you are in terms of money, employment and relationships.

All in all, Diener said, the evidence indicates that happiness is a worthy goal for those who lack it, but the endless pursuit of even more happiness for the already happy may be counterproductive.”

But what really is happiness? An elated feeling, a sense of bliss and ecstasy? Is it really so obscure and indescribable? Is happiness the ultimate goal or is it really a product of something deeper?

Happiness, the Secret, Joy & Happiness

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.   Philippians 4:4-7

So with you: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy. In that day you will no longer ask me anything. I tell you the truth, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.    John 16:22-24

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.   15:9-11

Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise.   James 5:13

Please Share!

