A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control.   Proverbs 29:11

Unholy Anger, AngerThere are times when things just aren’t going right, one after another, it just tumbles downhill. I want to write this as a reminder for myself. Well, I felt I needed to do something about my tempers.

Sometimes, I have allowed anger to rear its big ugly head and let it have control over me, often even into sin.

If left uncontrolled, this unholy anger will grieve myself, the ones I love, and my God. I needed to find some answers.

So the secret is out:   I am a human being.

Anger is a secondary emotion caused by a primary emotion. That is to say, normally we first feel pressured, hurt, frustrated, dissatisfaction, fear, threaten, offended, tired, disrespected, etc. And anger happens as an result or outburst to the first emotion. Thereafter, there is always a response.

In Jesus heals on the Sabbath, the Pharisees were actually waiting to entrap Jesus and accuse Him. Jesus was angry and deeply distressed with the Pharisees for their stubborn hearts. They were insensitive to the man’s suffering but Jesus in response, healed the man with a shriveled hand demonstrating God’s compassion and grace.

The day before Jesus clears the temple courts, Jesus went into the temple courts and looked around at everything. He then with His disciples went out to Bethany, Mark 11:11. Why didn’t Jesus clears the temple then? Why didn’t Jesus do it there and then?

Jesus must be hurt and frustrated by what he saw in the temple the first time, but notice that He showed restraint, postponed his reaction and went away to Bethany. In Bethany, I’m sure He prayed to the Father and considered His response. His anger led Him back to the temple the next day. Jesus did not sin due to his anger, instead He used anger to God’s purpose. Anger can be an emotion that causes us to take action for a good cause, if you know for sure where its coming from. Unfortunately we humans usually sin when anger takes control. If Jesus needs to step back before reacting dramatically, how much more so for us.

Unholy Anger, Anger Management

So how should we be?

Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.   James 1:19-20

Better to be patient than powerful; better to have self-control than to conquer a city.   Proverbs 16:32 (New Living Translation)

Comments
  1. Aaron says:

    Awsome teaching!@!!!!

  2. Sean Derriman says:

    Hello I was wondering if I could use http://www.hardcore-stress-management.com/images/teenager.jpg image in my upcoming music video called rehab. We are an organization called Kids 4 Kids and we do all kinds of different things to raise money for kids in third world countries. Our next project is making this music video and we would like this picture to be a part of it if you could please email me back at soldier_sean7@hotmail.com I would really appreciate it. Thank you.
    Sincerely
    S.Derriman

Please Share!

