A Little Encouragement, Giants and High Walls

Posted: 30 July, 2008 in Light Musings
Tags: , , ,

Best Christian Blog of the Week

Very honoured to be rated “Best Christian Blog of the Week” by CybeRanger.

This came as a little encouragement as a lot of things are going on right now in my life. This is a time of sweet blessings but also a time of faith and testing. Like the Israelites crossing river Jordan into the Promised Land, they are in a high state of excitement but also with much anticipation; facing the giants of the land and the highly fortified walls of Jericho.

On hindsight, it is easy to be critical of the Israelites. Afterall, God led them by a pillar of cloud and fire in the wilderness. His proven miracles, protection and provisions throughout the 40 years, what other assurances do they still want from Him? They grumbled and even wanted to go back to their old comfort zone, Egypt. And when faced with the massive opposing giant warriors and mountain high city walls, they are less than cetain.

A Little Encouragement

Similarly, at times when we face our own giants and high walls, we too are also unsure; unwilling to move forward. When we break it down, we are really not so different from them; we are no where more superior although we tend to think otherwise.

They have God in phyiscal demostration of His power, but we have God’s power in us through the Holy Spirit. We have a much better deal, we are empowered; but in our flesh we can still fall short. To sum up, without God I think we are worse than them.

However, we have a God who would not leave us at the Jordan river. He will not desert us in Egypt. He is faithful even if we can are not. He will keep the end of His convenant even if we cannot. He wants to bring us to the Promised Land; place of blessings and abundance. A land flowing with milk and honey.

A place where the Son is shining!

A place we call home!

A Little Encouragement,  Giants and High Walls

Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
My lips shall praise You.
Thus I will bless You while I live;
I will lift up my hands in Your name.
My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness,
And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.

When I remember You on my bed,
I meditate on You in the night watches.
Because You have been my help,
Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.
My soul follows close behind You;
Your right hand upholds me.

Psalm 63:3-8

Please Share!

