Stay On My Wings and Watch My Wink, Lehman Brothers Building

With the collapse and a carnage left behind by the two famous US financial institutions, the 158-years-old Lehman Brothers and the 94-years-old Merrill Lynch, shockwaves can be felt throughout the world. Global stock markets and commodity prices plunged in reaction. Some analysts are calling this the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression in the 1930s. Fear, uncertainty and panic abounds. Suddenly September 14, 2008 is the new black Sunday. See here.

Stay On My Wings and Watch My Wink, Jesus' Wink Financial Chart

When I read the report, I was quite overwhelmed by the love of God instead. Please allow me to share my testimony of His goodness. You see, due to some unforeseen commitment my wife and I took up recently, we decided to liquidate all our shares and unit trusts. What we have done was quite financially foolish because we bought them while they were quite high and we had to sell when the value has dropped. Nevertheless, we prayed and trusted God for His direction, although it wasn’t easy parting with our losses, we are stepping out of our comfort zone in faith. If you looked that the chart which I crudely put up, the chart has been in a downward trend for a way long time, but I zoomed in at the “blip”. At that time when we finally disposed of it, it sits on a small upward pimple before it contine its normal downward trend again, and needless to say, it would probably be a cliff drop after 14 September 08. (We would have sold at peak, if we haven’t procrastinated for a while)

Stay On My Wings and Watch My Wink, wall street, NYSE

No one can predict the financial markets, not even the experts. The entire fallen world is driven by pride, greed and fear; some say this is what Wall St is made of. For novices like us, we have nothing and knows nothing, some see us as blind-ducks. But don’t be afraid, we have the Shepherd as our guide. Sometimes when the storms of life rams into you, just like Peter, we are shaken and starts sinking too. However, we just have to remember The Hand In The Storm.

 

Personally, the reason I am writing this testimony is that I felt the whole episode is not a coincident. Like ancient King David, I experienced the “your rod and staff, they comforts me” in Psalms 23. There will surely be many who will have their lives severely affected by these incidents, where will they seek refuge and help? For those who believe, although treading in uncertainty, know that God is giving out His visible nuggets of assurance along the way, we just need to know where to look, where the Holy Spirit nudges. God will demonstrate His Hand in our daily lives and we are comforted because we know He is there always there for us, and in control. I call this Jesus’ little “wink”.

I used to quietly frown upon people with their testimonies about their deliverance from financial difficulties or divine-prosperity-blessings. I used to think God would have more important and “holier” things to do like ministering and healing people, running the universe than throw money at them. However, I now learnt God is concern about our needs and daily lives, anything that affects us, even small ones, that may affect our rest and relationship with Him. All He is concern is that we stay close at His wings and rest.  So there is a special rest still waiting for the people of God. For all who have entered into God’s rest have rested from their labors, just as God did after creating the world. So let us do our best to enter that rest.  Hebrews 4:9-11

Stay On My Wings and Watch My Wink, Wall Street, NYC

The world’s economy is not God’s economy. The world’s economy takes but God’s economy give. The world’s economy is always about loom and doom but God’s economy is always about life and abundance. The world’s economy strives on fear and greed but God’s economy strive on faith and rest. Which economy do you want to belong to?

And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.   Philippians 4:19

 

Please Share!

