The Agony Of The Cross

Posted: 15 July, 2009 in Ponderings
Tags: , , , , ,

In one of the previous post, Jesus & Jonah – The Total Redemption, we explored the account description of Jonah when he was swallowed up inside the belly of the fish which was also a prophetic description of how Jesus Christ would suffer at the cross. It give us a glimpse of the not-so-oblivious dimension of Christ’s angish at the cross.

The Agony Of The Cross, French Cross

Another supernatural prophetic description of what Jesus had to suffer was written in a form of a psalm by King David. Note that the prophecy through King David to the fulfullment of that prophecy by Jesus Christ is about a thousand years apart. Yet the detail of the psalm and more amazingly the fulfillment of the prophecy to the word is quite unbelievable.

My God, my God, why have you abandoned me? Why are you so far away when I groan for help?

But I am a worm and not a man. I am scorned and despised by all! Everyone who sees me mocks me. They sneer and shake their heads, saying, “Is this the one who relies on the Lord? Then let the Lord save him!  If the Lord loves him so much, let the Lord rescue him!”

Yet you brought me safely from my mother’s womb and led me to trust you at my mother’s breast. I was thrust into your arms at my birth. You have been my God from the moment I was born.

Do not stay so far from me, for trouble is near, and no one else can help me. My enemies surround me like a herd of bulls; fierce bulls of Bashan have hemmed me in! Like lions they open their jaws against me, roaring and tearing into their prey. My life is poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint. My heart is like wax, melting within me. My strength has dried up like sunbaked clay. My tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth. You have laid me in the dust and left me for dead. My enemies surround me like a pack of dogs; an evil gang closes in on me. They have pierced my hands and feet. I can count all my bones. My enemies stare at me and gloat. They divide my garments among themselves and throw dice for my clothing.   Psalm 22:1; 22:6-18

Jesus knew exactly what He had to go through at the cross. Yet He chose to go, willingly. Re-live the actual account on the fulfillment of Jesus’ suffering and the agony of the cross, see here.

And he said, “Yes, it was written long ago that the Messiah would suffer and die and rise from the dead on the third day. It was also written that this message would be proclaimed in the authority of his name to all the nations, beginning in Jerusalem: ‘There is forgiveness of sins for all who repent.’ You are witnesses of all these things.     Luke 24:46-48

There is forgiveness of sins for all who repent, because of what He suffered… And because He lives…

Comments
  1. Paulina says:

    David is a prophet,and i believe that whatever God wants to manifest, He exhibites it before time to prof his supremacy to mankind

Please Share!

