A Catholic Wedding, Making To Heaven

Posted: 24 September, 2010 in Light Musings
Tags: , ,

A Catholic Wedding, Making To Heaven - Norwich Catholic Cathedral Nave

Recently, I attended a wedding of a friend; actually a Catholic wedding. The Holy Matrimony was conducted in a Catholic Church that included a mass, or their “worship service” in Christian terms. Initally, I was a little uncomfortable with the preception of Mother Mary worship or traditions that may not go down well my throat. Yes, it was my virgin attendance.

I sat in apprehension.

However, as the mass started, I was pleasantly surprised. The service mass was conducted with serene worship God and Christ. As I looked around, I saw some sincere worshippers singing hymns, partaking the Holy Communion, reading Bible scriptures and prayer Jesus taught. There were moments were I had reminiscences of a traditional church I grew up in.

I asked God if these nice people would join us in heaven.

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved.   Romans 10:9-10

Of course, there are differences in doctrines and some very critical ones, see here and here. And most may be handicapped by rituals, traditions, organisational hierarchy and some outright heresy not taught in the Bible. But coming to Jesus Christ is first and foremost the most basic and simple,  “I tell you the truth, everyone who acknowledges me publicly here on earth, the Son of Man will also acknowledge in the presence of God’s angels. Luke 12:8

A Catholic Wedding, Making To Heaven

Jesus alone saves. Jesus alone is Lord. Only Jesus’ sacrifice can cleanse us. Only by faith are we made right before God. Justification is by faith, not by anything we do.  We need to trust in Jesus alone for the forgiveness of their sins and not the sacraments, not the words of the priest, not the pope, not Mary, not the saints, not penance, not indulgences, not the rosary. Jesus alone is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

Without going into great details, I am just simply happy and glad that people are saved in Catholic Churches as well. Some I have met in a Catholic church wedding.

See’ya in heaven!

Please Share!

