God Help Those Who Help Themselves?

Posted: 29 April, 2011 in Ponderings
Tags: , ,

God helps those who help themselves?”

Contrary to popular belief, the saying that “God helps those who help themselves” is not in the Bible! It was first quoted by Benjamin Franklin in Poor Richard’s Almanac in 1757. In actuality, it originated from Algernon Sydney in 1698 in an article titled Discourses Concerning Government. Whatever the original source of this saying, the Bible teaches the direct opposite. God helps the helpless!

Of course we understand in terms of salvation, we know are all utterly helpless. We are all infected by sin, and condemned as a result of that sin. Nothing we can do on our own can remedy this situation. Thankfully, God is the helper of the helpless. While we were still sinners, Jesus died for us. Jesus paid the penalty that we were incapable of paying . God provided the “help” that we need precisely because we could not help ourselves.

However, we must also realise God is interested in our lives beyond our salvation as well. He helps those who are helpless and dependent on Him. He helps those who look to Him as their only source of help for their problem. Read the The Beatitudes from the sermon on the Mount taught by Jesus Christ, somehow God delights with those who fully depend on Him.

God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him, for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.   Matthew 5:-3

If you say, “My problem is that I am weak.” God says, “That is not a problem. I am your strength.” If you say, “Lord, my face is the problem. I am unpopular.” God says, “My face will shine on yours. I am your glory and your favor.” If you say, “Lord, I am the problem. I am a nobody.” God says, “You are my child, you are somebody. I will make people notice that.”

Unfortunately, many of us are still trying to help ourselves, thinking that for certain matters, we don’t really need God. But God says, “Without Me, you can do nothing.” (John 15:5)  Do we really believe that? Or do we believe that without Him, we can still do some things to help ourselves?

Only when we realize that we can do nothing, and are nothing in and of ourselves, then can we do all things through Christ who strengthens us! (Philippians 4:13)

That will be the time, when you will witness the undeserved, unmerited help and favor of God deliver us from every evil!

Comments
  1. Judy says:

    If I had been doing well on my own, I surely had said gee, thanks Jesus but
    No thanks I’m running things on my own and doing well. But I had such a mess
    before me that accepting Jesus was the only chance I had, thank God he took
    me in and changed my mourning into dancing joy, Praise Him.

Please Share!

