You Are in Control of Your Joy That No One Can Rob

Posted: 11 November, 2013 in Ponderings
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 … you will rejoice, and no one can rob you of that joy. 23 … I tell you the truth, you will ask the Father directly, and he will grant your request because you use my name. 24 You haven’t done this before. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy. John 16:22-23

Life may not always turn out to what you liked it to be. Maybe you haven’t ask the Father. Maybe you are still waiting for your miracles. Whatever the case, we still have reasons to smile and be joyful right where we are. Simply because Jesus Himself declared we are so (Yes, your joy will overflow! John 15:11) and that no one can rob us of that joy. No one can rob us of that joy; unless of course, we decide to give it up instead of holding on to it.

Often, our flesh wants to fight back; wants to get even. But what we are really doing, is allowing our joy to slip way. You have to let go of the joy in your hands in order to grab anger. You can give in by reacting to the negative; going on the offensive, going around upset, frustrated and offended. Or, you can hold the joy firmly and say, “It is not worth it. I am keeping my joy! I am not going to be upset and I have a choice not to let go of my joy! I choose to remain in my God-given joy!”

Think of it this way: Is that nasty person or situation really worth giving up your precious joy for?   Probably not.

… the joy of the Lord is your strength!” Nehemiah 8:10

If you lose your joy, you are also losing your strength. So think about it – you have a choice. If you decide not to let that depressing person or circumstance rob you of your joy, you are not only happier, you are also stronger.

That JOY is the very inheritance we have in the Lord. We should guard it like a precious treasure it really is.

Comments
  1. Joy really is a treasure! thank you for the reminder!

  2. kelechiphilip says:

    thank you very, much, that is a wonderful words to me,because i have realise that the reason why somebody rob of my joy is because i ask amiss,but my joy can never to termpad again,for i ask in the name of our lord jesus

  3. rob says:

    joy cant be faked you cant just put a smile on and call it joy,It is a fruit of the spirit, Surround yourself with people who have genuine joy(fellowship), and the Holy Spirit will recharge or fill your joy cup, when you are ready to give in to feelings of pressure from the world. Read Psalm 1 everyday > Share your joy and help others get their joy cup refilled

  4. King David says:

    God is so good! He gave me something to write about yesterday that strangely I need to hold on to today!

    – on the road this fellow horned from behind, came up, cut into my lane and deliberately jammed brake right in front of me…

    All I can think of is what I have written… It’s not easy, but I decided I am holding on to my joy!

    All glory to Jesus!

  5. So true, I remember some years ago my pastor’s wife described joy as an inner peace that is not shaken by outer circumstances.

Please Share!

