O Lord, Give Me Success Today

“O Lord, God of my master, Abraham,” he prayed. “Please give me success today, and show unfailing love to my master, Abraham. Genesis 24:12

Everyone wants to be successful. In life, whether at work, at home, or any endeavours; everyone wants to be successful. But how do we become successful? By sheer hard work and grit? The ploughing buffaloes sure worked harder than anyone else, right? You see, the earth was cursed by God at the fall of man. To work for success by sheer sweat and hard work is a curse from the fall.

Is there a better way, then?

In Genesis 24, an unnamed servant (a picture of the Holy Spirit) was tasked to look for a wife for Isaac. When he is ready, he started with a prayer first.

“O Lord, please give good success today… and demonstrate Your unfailing kindness and love.”

I guess that is the very secret. If you commit everything you do to the Lord, He will guarantee your success! (Proverbs 16:3)

Make this your daily prayer,

“Dear Lord give me good success today! Demonstrate Your unfailing love and grace to me. Let Your glory and favours come upon me. I commit my plans into Your hands. (Describe the details of your plans). It is not by my strength nor by my power but by Your Spirit. I know You will make me a success for Your glory. In Jesus’ name. Amen”

 

Please Share!

