Water Baptism Needed for Salvation?

Posted: 12 August, 2014 in Ponderings
Tags: , , , , , ,

Water Baptism Needed for Salvation?

I was baptised over 20 years ago. Unfortunately, it was not a full water immersion baptism like what Jesus too had, but a water sprinkling baptism. There was an understandable reason for the exception because of the many elderly folks baptizing then as well, but I must say I was rather disappointed. Fast forward, I felt short-changed and had always desired a ‘full’ baptism. And I finally did, when God opened doors that I can have a properly-full-water-immersed-baptism in 2009. I really enjoyed my time in the water (a little too much); that my pastor got a little worried and had to pull me up. Yes, I really took my time while I was under the water. And it was fantastic!

For it is by free grace (God’s unmerited favor) that you are saved (delivered from judgment and made partakers of Christ’s salvation) through [your] faith. And this [salvation] is not of yourselves [of your own doing, it came not through your own striving], but it is the gift of God; Ephesians 2:8 (AMP)

You see, I knew I am saved… (even before my water baptism) by grace through faith in Jesus Christ, my Lord and Saviour. But I still desired to physically demonstrate and “act out” my spiritual standing and faith publicly, just as Christ publicly and physically demonstrated His love for me on the cross. Like what Romans 6:3-4 says; a believer’s identification and symbolic affirmation with Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection. It was not out of the need to gain salvation (on my part, on my performance or the requirement), but as a fruit that has grown out of the seed of faith in Christ through God’s unmerited favour (not earned by me or my effort).

However, I am concern that there are alternate Christian believes that constituted the act of water baptism as a very critical need for salvation; in addition to the grace through faith in Jesus Christ. This creates unnecessary fear, uncertainty and confusion within the body of Christ, which needs to be addressed fundamentally.

 

Water Baptism + Faith in Jesus Christ = Eternal Salvation?

No, no and no…

 

Water Baptism Needed for Salvation?Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. Romans 5:8 (NIV)    

Only one thing is required; Faith in Jesus Christ = Eternal Salvation!

Remember the thief crucified on Calvary on Jesus’ right side, Luke 23:39-43, he didn’t have time to get baptised, (he was rather tied up 🙂 ) But still, Jesus said he will be with Him in paradise. He got saved even without water baptism, didn’t he?

Every faithful believer would want to be water baptised, but not everyone baptised may turn out to be a true believer. Ultimately, water baptism has no direct connection to eternal life. It’s only through Jesus Christ alone, can we be assured of eternal salvation; Jesus is the Way, not baptism. It is not about outward rituals or appearance, rather it is an inward transformation through personal relationship with our Saviour.

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved. Romans 10:9-10 (NIV)

Once there is faith, there is grace from Jesus to offer salvation. Salvation offered by Christ is not cheap; it cost His life. But it is not difficult too; you only need to believe and profess your faith.

For God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave up His only begotten ([a]unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life. John 3:16 (AMP)

whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Jesus Christ have eternal life – Eternal Salvation.

Nothing more, nothing less…

Take it from someone who was baptized twice. 🙂

 

 

Does Acts 2:38 teach that baptism is necessary for salvation?

Does Mark 16:16 teach that baptism is necessary for salvation?

Does 1 Peter 3:21 teach that baptism is necessary for salvation?

Does John 3:5 teach that baptism is necessary for salvation?

Does Acts 22:16 teach that baptism is necessary for salvation?

Does Galatians 3:27 teach that baptism is necessary for salvation?

 

 

Please Share!

