Why Pray?

Posted: 25 November, 2014 in Ponderings
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Why Pray?

I have asked this question before, and you probably had too. If God, the Father is all-knowing, all-powerful and omnipresent, then why do we need to pray? Why do we need to tell God something He has already known; even before we were given birth (Psalms 139:16). Then, isn’t this a silly ritual to “nag” at God Almighty over something again and again?

So why pray?

You see, prayer gives God-the Father, the rightful place as the Giver and makes us at the appropriate place of the Receiver (or beneficiary). With prayer, it gives the right back to God to intervene into our lives, in this fallen world. If you remember, God gave Adam the right to this world, but then it was inappropriately given to the devil. So for us the redeemed, prayer allows us to give God the right back into our lives for Him to make right what went wrong; even to deliver us from the evil one.

“I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!   John 14:12-14

Christ came to give us a victorious life; a life that can be filled with miracles and wonders. It gives the Lord, our God great pleasure just simply by asking Him. Asking Him to do what only a God can do. And that’s called faith.

Please Share!

