For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’   Matthew 25:35-36

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had the privilege of paying a visit to a dear missionary in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Visiting their work in the field was an experience that still have me pondering with my own life’s priorities and soul-searching on my life’s journey. It was a sudden awakening from a (first world) bubble wrap into the sad reality of the real (third) world. Much of what we have taken for granted as basic and a necessity is “godsend” in some parts of the world.

It is quite unimaginable for young children to grow up literally on piles of rubbish and playing in dirt. These children have no clean water to drink or enough food to eat, most are scruffy and dirty. Birthed into impoverished families, they have no school and at a young age, they are forced to help provide for their families by scavenging through rubbish or work as child-labour.

On the contrary, we are so blessed but yet materialistically clamouring for more. For me, it took a rubbish dump site (where families lived), some simple food for feeding and the children’s laughter to provoke me into repentance. You see, we just cannot turn a blind eye to the abject poverty in our (prosperous) midst; the elephant in the room. We cannot deny what God, and the Holy Spirit who is in us, wants to do; to help out in whatever way we can. We just cannot bask in the glory of the Lord, overflowing with love and grace we have received through Christ, and yet do nothing at all. This is because Christ’s compassion for the needy is also bursting from within.

Our Lord Jesus fed the 5,000 in the gospels because he had compassion on them. More importantly, He fed the people through His disciples (Matthew 14:13-21). Similarly, we are His current disciples here on earth. Dear God’s beloveds, it is now up to you and me… to spread the Lord’s goodness through us. 

 

Please Share!

